<< To be? Not to be? Be. >>
2003-04-10, 8:48 a.m.

What a bright and sunny morning! I come in half dazed and I find a lambchop finger puppet waiting for me at my desk. SO that brightened my morning right up. Not that you will understand why....but anyhow. :)

SO i am here drinking an exceptional cup of french roast coffee...and the sun is beaming across my moniter. I am having a neck pain day too. I hope that the doc calls me soon with the referall to go to x-rays. I don't know why it has taken them a week. Gosh dern it. The way I see it is, if there is something wrong inside there that they need to see....shouldn't they see it NOW? Eh. My doc isn't all that interested in his family practice. He is a california doc turned texan that is much more interested in his asthetic practice. While I was waiting in the exam room he was botoxing one lady, then giving another lady a consultation about what kind of peels they could do on her skin. When I come in the office staff was talking to each other about their free collagen injections. *sigh* If only he wasn't the only O.D. Around. I don't want an M.D. I want an osteopathic doctor. They are different. Lucky for me his assistant will be back next week. I like her much more. Plus she is a vegetarian too so she tries to give find me meds w/o gelatin or beeswax. So I like that. :)

So I got lots done yesterday evening. I came home and made a tad bit of potatoes & had some fava beans w/ cumin. I'm kinda freakish...I can cook anythign in the microwave. Don't get me wrong...the stove has its use...but come on! I live in TEXAS. Here in the heat of summer you don't dare turn on the stove. not when its 100 degrees out. I guess thats why texans love bbq. You cook it outside while drinking cold beer. Plus it is always served with cold food. Salad, potato salad, water melon, & Iced Tea.

You know...texas wouldn't be texas w/o iced tea. I'ts everywhere and it's in abundance. in fact I am surprised it hasn't REPLACED water here. hehe. Most places will just stick a pitcher of it on your table if you have 2 or more people. Plus another great thing about texas....chips and salsa. Yes. When you sit down in a place...they bring it out. Free! So as a vegan that is always a bonus. Can you belive how cheap I can eat? Some places I just order a side of beans and rice & tortillas and its maybe like $2.25 or $3.00 tops! And i sit there with my chips, salsa, tortillas, beans & rice happy as a tofutabeast.

Now Austin is its own little texas world of its own. As far as I can tell...its the neatest city in texas. And no I am not an austin born gal....I have lived in other places in texas and the U.S. but Austin is home. it is a multicultural melting pot. Take for example my workplace. Downstairs we have a deli & a tex-mex place. Down the road you will find the following kinds of cuisine: Pakistani, Indian, Thai, Vietnamese, Korean, Chinese, Japanese, bbq, down home south soul food, & french. Not to mention all of the american staples: Sonic, mickydees, boogerking, kfc, & whatnot. Just in a matter of 2 miles!

You can shop for these foods in grocery stores around here too. It has become a way of life around here. When I want to go out I don't think about a place...first I narrow it to a COUNTRY. Then a place. The last place I lived I pretty much lived on Applebees and this little "Chinese" place that sold takeout. It was all GREASY and yummy. But it wasn't Chinese.

I don't know If I can ever leave this place.

I fit in so well. Sure I look all "normal" most of the time, but only in austin can I let each and every one of my true colors show. There is so much to being me, Here you don't have to be strait, white, and christian. Heck, even one of our usual candidates for Mayor is Leslie. Leslie is a homeless man. More than that he dresses as a woman. Wears tutus or skirts, dyes his hair wild colors, paints his nails, but keeps his balding head and facial hair. He doesn't have a home and is always trying to make Austin a better place. I would vote for him. Leslie is Austin.

You can be what you want to be. Be who you want to be. You can just be.

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design