<< On a diet...why does diet have die? >>
2005-01-11, 3:14 p.m.

So anyhow, my weight has sky rocketed. Bah! I am soooo not into this. I now have to contemplate my clothing before work to determine if it will fit or not. Grrr. I have this pair of khakis that I bought when I dropped a good amount of the weight and couldn't fit into my clothes anymore. Well they are a size 12 (I think) and I had to put them away for a long time because they were so baggy they looked sloppy for work. Well those dang khakis are now back in my closet. I wore them yesterday and noticed my belly was hanging out. THis is sooooo not cool.
Plus I went to the doc yesterday for my usual pap, thyroid testing, and a usual round of std tests....and well they had to weigh me. Eeh gads. 157? How on earth did that happen? Where did the 130's go. I am soooo in no mans land. THis cannot continue! It really crept up on me becuase I got lazy.
Anyhow, I'm going back to a lot of old habits that were healthy. Like avoiding the snack machine. Cutting the fat out of a lot of cooking. Eating better stuff in general.
I don't see how people do that atkins thing. Sure I am a vegetarian, but put that aside. I don't see atkins as something that will keep a person thin for life. How can you keep that up forever? It's obvious to me that the only way to get to the weight you want is to change your eating habits. Why isn't it obvious to everyone else?

My thoughts here:
Drink plenty of water. Your body really needs fluid and most of us don't get enough. If you aren't into water you can also try iced tea, put some lemon or lime juice in your water, or even a wee bit of fruit juice. Your body will thank you.
Healthy snacks. You have to keep your metabolism going. Eating between meals isn't bad if you do it right. It keeps you from binging. I'm a chronic binge artist. And overcoming bullimia has NOT been magicaly delicious. I face temptation frequently. Esp when my belly is too full. That's when guilt sets in. So partake of fruits, veggies, maybe some animal or gram (I never know where to put the h in that word) crackers. Rice cakes are pretty decent too, and you can get the sweeter ones. Also light kettlecorn is sweetened w/ splenda. Great snack (or occasional meal for me).
portion control. Do you really need that second taco? Or that third taco? Do you really need fries with that? Maybe you can steal a few fries from a friend if you feel the need. But before long, you won't miss 'em. Wait about 5 minutes before going back for seconds. That way you can decide if you are going back becuase it tastes good or if you are really hungry. That way if you aren't actually hungry anymore, you can stop.
Cut out the unneeded fats. Salad dressing, go for vinnagrett. Light italian is good too. Try some lemon, or oddly enough, pickle juice w/ salt and pepper tastes surprisingly good.
Maybe you should give veggie cheeses a go. Even if you are a meat & dairy eater, you can still get good taste from many of them. If one brand is icky, don't give up! Some aren't great, some are WONDERFUL! This way you avoid the saturated fat of cheese. that crap is a killer.
hidden fats? Yep, they hide. Those little boogers. Some frozen foods are ready for baking...does that mean it's good? nah...many have been deep fried before packaging. So look at the darn lable. Speaking of hidden fat...there is hidden sugar too! Lots of reduced fat and low fat and fat free sweets make up for the fat w/ sugar. Do you really want that? The more sugar you eat, the more you will crave. Break the chain!
exercise. I can't say enough about it. I know I haven't gotten enough lately. Old anorexic habits die really hard w/ me. I find myself fidgeting constantly (an ana way of burning a few calories) and I also find myself calculating calories burned every moment. But there are easy ways to incorporate more exercise into your life. EASY WAYS! When you go shopping or to the store. Park far away. Less likely to have your car dinged, and it forces you to walk farther. Also when you are done. Take your cart all the way back to the cart storage at the store. That is, unless you have a baby in the car or something.
Waiting in line at the post office, the dmv, grocer, or electric company? Work those abs by flexing them. No one will really notice. I also do keigals while waiting. Hey, a gal has to be fit in ALL places ;-)
Always take the stairs. You can do it!
Wash your dishes by hand, then dry them.

Anyhow, I'm not an expert. But I am vowing to do better for my body. I'm tired of feeling self conscious every time a man runs his hand over my side...or worrying about how my belly bulges as Ilay on my side...or if he will feel the rolls on my back, will he notice the width of my thighs? I hate that.
So anyhow...I'm gonna improve. Time go go back...feel better...move into a better body.
I have all kinds of personal updates...have to make those later though.

-perfectbone

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design