<< Feel it in your fingertips >>
2004-05-03, 11:14 a.m.

2nd today

I have such a love hate relationship with myself.

The whole time I was sick, I kept telling myself to rest...be sick...after all, I could barely move. But inside, I could not stop thinking about the fact that I wasn't doing anything at all with my time. I hate feeling unproductive.

Last night I worked on decorating my art studio a bit. I put up a long wall hanging thing. Actually it is meant to be an item of clothing, a sari, you wrap it around you to create your skirt and top. however I think it looks great draped around my walls.

I did some sewing this wknd. I swear that being a seamstress is just in my blood. My grandmother did it and still does. She worked in a factory during the depression, making pants and such. But other than that she was a wedding dress maker. She has always made her own clothing. She did teach me a bit and we worked together, but I am such an "off the cuff" kind of person that she would get frustrated with me.

I don't use patterns, unless I make a pattern so that I can make multiples of the same item. This weekend I made a paintbrush holder. It's a rolling type of case that has slots for all my brushes. Dick Blick (art supply place) charges $12.99 for a canvas version. Ha! I used spare material that has been languishing away in my supply bin. Pretty denim looking, neat ribbon trim, and I had a scrap of pink leather string that I sewed on to tie it closed. Fab. I just cut, start pinning, and sewing. Somehow nothing ever comes out crooked. All my clothing has been wonderful and wearable.I guess it's the artist in me.

In other news today is B's birthday. I got him a gift cert to a local pagan shop so he could pick out something frivolous, and also a framed picture that I thought he would like. We are supposed to go out with his fam tonight too. Chinese, yummy. I also need to find a Rhubarb pie....

When you are sick you are forced to sit still and listen to the universe. Sometimes the gods go to extreem measures to make sure that you will sit down and listen to them. Hell, they've done worse!!!

-pb

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design