<< I hate breaking down at work >>
2004-05-12, 9:00 a.m.

1st today

Dang, yesterday I got a severe ass chewing from my boss' supervisor. She is a harsh woman...harsh!

I was bawling my eyes out and sobbing and wimpering and blubbering. I was a mess. She did it by speakerphone in front of one of my bosses. Oh god...it was awful! I was stuck at work for an hour, attemtpting to work and crying.

But it's done. WHatever. It was becuase she needed a copy of a paper and she didn't like that I did not have it. a few months ago she asked me to copy and mail a letter. I told her that if she instructed me to do so, I likely did. She asked where the copy was? I didn't have one. I don't have a file for such things. (wrong answer, apparently I am supposed to keep a copy of their coorespondence. I didn't know I was supposed to read their correspondence and file it.)

She said things in a very mean way. But she is an abrasive woman. She told me that these things should not be foreign to me. That these are simple administrative principles. That if I could not handle it, then I should tell them so that Sylvia (her assistant, a Tech III) could come train me.

Well la-di-da. Come on people...it's not like I went to school for this crap. It's not like I went to some school that trained me to be an assistant. In fact..had I never been a buyer at a big time bookstore I never would be here today. That's the only reason i qualified for my last position as a Tech I. That and I am computer literate, logical, and most of all I have people skills. I smile a bunch, and I think being pretty to look at doesn't hurt either.

My last job got me into the government, got me a bit more experience, and great reccomendations. That's how I got here as a tech II. I don't have ANY friggin training in this crap...I make it up as I go along. Filing? Well, it's logic I suppose. Organization??? Um, well, don't I just put things where they go? And people...well I just treat them the way I want to be treated.

I do 1000 things right a day...but the wrong thing got seen at the wrong time, by the wrong person. THis job is NOTHING like i have ever done before, and I have only been here since September. I didn't have ANY on the job training. I did not have a person preceding me that could leave me valuable tips. In fact...those that are here that could help, work against me every day because they hate me for getting the job when they have so much more experience, not to mention they are decades OLDER than I am.

*sigh* I have complained enough. But what did I learn???

1. Being someone's B!tch isn't my idea of a lifestyle.

2. Denise told me something I won't forget. "Ann (the big boss) Puts her panties on the same way you do." Now of course those panties are larger, and less likely to be covered in a dandy cute print....however we are both human, we are both women, and outside of these walls, we are on the same playing field.

-pb

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design