<< Aye Matey! There be Pirates about! >>
2004-07-08, 8:48 a.m.

1st today

LONDON/SINGAPORE (Reuters) -- The global trade in pirated software, from versions of Microsoft Windows XP to Adobe Acrobat, hit nearly $29 billion in 2003, an industry trade body said in its annual survey on Wednesday.

Hmmm, wonder what they are including in that total. For example...I have masses of pirated software that I may use for just one thing....just one thing that might make my life easier for on day in a year. That's it. I may never use it again.

If I need a program, if I use a program, I pay for it. If I download music from an artist...and I love the whole thing, I buy the cd. For example...the first NEW CD that I have purchased in maybe 2 years...Evanescence. I realized that I DL the whole cd. So I bought it. Besides...my stock stero in my car will only play purchased CDS. No CDRs or CDRWs.

I know a lot of people like me...that feel if the product is really worth having, and really worth using, they will pay for it. Otherwise, who want's to pay $500 bucks for a program they use once in a blue moon to make a funny picture for your Mothers Day card? Do you really want to buy a cd from that cool new band, only to find out they have 1 good song??? just one???

Oh like this band (from the mid 90's) Hum. They did this song about some girl that liked to look at stars or something...I loved it! I bought the CD. The CD sucked rump. It was BAD. a waste of my $14.99 (or more!) So I traded the cd for another bad cd that had only 2 good songs. You know...I ended up better off. ;-)

If your product inspires devotion, we will pay. If you are a recording artist worth hearing, we will buy....if nothing else but for the realy spiffy art, and all the neeeeeto stuff they put into cd's now. If I love the game I buy it. Like The Sims or Sanitarium.

My two cent's anyhow.

-Perfectbone

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design