<< A Hairy Battle >>
2004-07-28, 10:58 a.m.

2nd entry today

This past weekend my mother was noting that I got my body hair traits from my father. You see...my mother has almost non existent eyelashes and eyebrows. Her body hair really isn't there at all. However, I on the other hand have dark normal eyebrows and thicker dark lashes. But that's the only perk.

Other than that, body hair has been a life long battle. No I don't have a beard...so don't go there.

I started shaving my legs in 4th grade. Since then I have shaved with single, double, and triple blades, shaved with an electric, waxed, sugared, delipatoried, plucked and used an epilady. The hair in my legs is awful! Thick and black. Wost of all, my skin is so pale and translucent, even if I shave you can see the hair below the skin...so it still looks bad! *sigh* Lucky for me, the problem is pretty much just the legs...sure i have a fine little treasure trail below my belly button...but not anything more than normal.

I love my Epilady. Some women consider it a torture device....since it rips the hair out by the root. But it is amazing. Still, though full hair removal lasts most people 6 weeks...it lasts me about 4-6 days.

It's a real battle! It starts with excellent exfoliation...usualy w/ salt scrub....then use the epilady that day. Then pluck the hair on my knees becuase they are tough boogers. Then the next day I shave with a regular razor. Then I touch up the bikini line w/ an electric. Then start process over again next week. meanwhile moisturize daily and exfoliate frequently, and use a spray fake tan on my legs too so they don't look so ghastly pale.

Why couldn't it be socialy acceptable in the US for women to have hairy legs? Why did that trend start?

The ladies in the commercials make hair removal seem so easy...so comfortable. But it's awful! I have grown accustomed to the Epilady, so it doesn't hurt too much, but imagine having 4-8 leg hairs ripped out at a time. Then on top of that...there's razor burns, razor knicks, ingrown hairs, and oh my favorite trouble...folicalitis.

I am dying for lazer removal on my entire leg up to my bikini line. I can handle shaving the under arms...no problemo.

Anyone got a few thousand dollars laying about that can be donated to my cause? It would ease my pain and suffering! ;-)

-Perfectbone

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design