<< Princess >>
2004-11-17, 9:43 a.m.

This morning Princess died. Seems no matter how much high calorie goo I gave her, she just wasted away from the adrenal disease. that and she had a tooth infection recently. But likely it was the adrenal part.
Zen let me know about it. She was moving slowly last night, but I thought she might have been sleepy. They sleep a lot with adrenal disease. Zen kept running to the living room, meowing at me and looking back. I thought he wanted me to open the front door so he could look out. So when I tried to do that, he ran to the cage, looked back and meowed again.
That's when I realized something was wrong.
Ferrets always cuddle up into their bedding (in her case, old shirts and pillow cases), so she was burrowed but I could see her back end. I peered in there...to see if her belly was moving up and down. Ferrets have a death like sleep sometimes, and no matter how much you move the cage, or even pick them up...they refuse to wake up. So I thought...maybe it was that.
But I sat there...her belly didn't rise or fall. I couldn't reach into the cage...I was too scared. I shook the cage, wiggled her food dish to make food sounds...but nothing.
I ran into the bedroom and started bawling with earl...at that point I didn't know for sure...but I had a good idea. I was freaking out.
I told him he would have to check. He told me that I had to calm down a little before he would.
So a while later, I heard the cage door close, and he came in and hugged me. She was gone.
I know she missed her brother Neeker. It's been a bit over a year since he died.
We had to both run to work this morning, so I couldn't bury her. It's also flooding here...so I don't know what to do.
He convinced me to just go ahead and leave her in the cage till we get home. After all...she isn't in there anymore, just the body. She is where ever ferrets go...maybe to a heaven, maybe to the mighty cauldron of Cerridwen. No matter where she is, I'm sure that she has plenty of shoes to steal and dirty socks to swipe.
I'm sorry you never got to meet her. She was fiesty and high strung, but small and beautiful.

her name was originaly Happy. I named her that becuase I was so happy to have her. But soon I found that she was very concerned w/ her appearance and she liked to strike a pose when people watched her. As the seasons changed, her fur would change color and pattern & a crown shape would appear on her head. So she was named Princess.
She was a good ferret. She had a good 6 1/2 years. She loved to aggrivate me, play with paper bags and wrapping paper, steal tennis balls, and most of all steal my shoes.

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design