<< fda us uncool >>
2005-02-17, 9:38 p.m.

Here I am with the flu.
Yes, sucks to be me. Yeah, that AND I had to go to the er on monday morn for a fucking kidney infection. Blows to be me. By the time they got to me, I was clawing up the wall screaming in pain.
So I got my antibiotic for my kidney and it will be swell and spiffy. Got my tylenol 3 for the pain. Got sh!tty cold medicine for the flu.
I hate the FDA.
Yes, I do. We all know that any kind of drug can kill us. Many drugs that have been on the market previously, were created because in most cases the drug would benefit the subject. They were approved for specific use only.
So what's my beef? Everytime people die from a drug it seems to be a big old shock. Why is this a shock? If you pick up a RX at the drug store, it comes with a scary list of side effects and warnings. If you pick up a bottle of Ibuprophen you will see warnings as well.
So let's keep it simple...every time you pick up a medication...you have risks. All of them have risks.
If all of them have risks, and all of them have benefits, well then shouldn't I be left to make my own decision? I have the flu and all of the good cold/cough meds were taken off long long ago. The good sleeping pills? HAHAHA! Diet pills? whatever....if it's good...then it's gone. We can die from being fat, or die from getting thin. Yes, we have all heard the stories...phen-phen, ephedrine, amphetamines, and so on...people did die. But people die in escalators. People die in cars. People die while eating soup.
My Evil Plot:
The FDA will continue to evaluate drugs for safety (as to the standards of safety, that is another rant for another day). ALl drugs will be on the market available to all. All risks and benefits will be listed on all products. Cigarettes often say "sale to minors prohibited" or "smoking causes low birthweight babies." Can't things be labled like this "this drug is for use by those over 18. By using this drug you asume all responsibility for risk."
So my point....stop taking all of the goods!

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design