<< A Fake Jew >>
2004-02-27, 10:46 a.m.

2nd entry

This morning I was gently reminded that I will need to be "Jewish" on sunday. Grr. I would like to appologize to any Jewish folk out there for what I have been asked to do, and what I will do this weekend. I will pretend to be Jewish.

First of all, I am not Jewish, I have never been Jewish, not a single person (that I know of) in my family has ever been Jewish. I am PAGAN. However, B., is too embarrased to admit my religion to his coworker. We are doing a double date w/ his uber xtian co-worker and his wife to go see The Passion.

B said that it would make his life miserable if they knew the truth. he works in the biblebelt for the county and they wouldn't understand, he says. In a last ditch effort to get out of this fiasco, he told them that I was Jewish.

Judaism is a fantastic religion, and i think it's really quite interesting. However, I have no idea how on earth i am going to pull this off. Just like being pagan, there is a LOT to it. I know my own religion really well....but reform judaism??? Come on!!!

I am not ashamed of my religion. I am a government employee and I am out of the broom closet about my chosen path. I don't flaunt it or make a big production about it...but then again, NO ONE makes a big deal out of religion here.

I don't like having to lie. He has no problem with lying and doesn't seem to care...however he isn't the one hiding behind someone elses god.

-pb

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design