<< Inspiration strikes me down again!!! >>
2004-02-09, 4:20 p.m.

I am feeling so inspired today. So inspired that I really dont' want to be working!

I have some incredible ideas that I took the time to draw out on a scrap piece of paper. I was so overwhelmed w/ inspiration I literaly dropped what I was doing and scrambled for paper. And damn it of course I do not have the supplies on hand. But I have SOME. ;-) I can't really talk about what I am creating becuase it's kinda bad luck. It's all about the Oho. I don't want anyone to start liking my idea before it's done and give me el oho and my project flopping. Know what I mean. Oh...you guys might not know about el ojo.

El ojo is the spanish word for "eye." Or in this case it when someone "gives you the eye" or "the evil eye" to be more exact. But it's one of those things that is generaly understood in context...that's how they differentiate between the noun of the eye in your head and the verb of giving the evil eye. In Mexican culture you can give the ojo (btw..."O" is long and "J" is pronounced like the english "H" to sound like "O-HO") by complimenting someone or admiring something that someone has. If you do not touch the item or person after thinking that thought or saying something, you give them the evil eye.

You may notice that their culture has a different idea of what constitues "personal space." This led to many many cheek pinches as a child (pre-empted by "Ohhhh Mija!!") and lots of old ladies touching my curly hair. Sometimes the actions seem almost compulsive. However, the are just a norm in these parts. Yes it is superstitious, however it is a long ingraned part of every day life. In fact, today my boss touched my Milfore necklace. She liked it a lot, and didn't want me to lose it or anything.

Well Anyhow...keep your ojo to yourself. Other than that I am feeling pretty swell. I hope you folks don't mind my freaky tangents. Eh..maybe you'll learn something!?

I have an incredible craving for crispy crunchy lettuce. Same thing happend last week. Lucky for me, I have plenty of that at home!! And I haven't any plans for the evening at this time, other than working on some creations...OoOOH just had another thought!OoooOH. I have got to get this one down!! yay! Been so long since I have felt this full if ideas!

Buenos Noches!

Perfectbone (aka your local artistic goddess!)

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design