<< Talk to nature, she listens >>
2004-02-09, 12:23 p.m.

2nd Entry today

I'm feeling a little better now after talking to jeff. I was as little worried about him. I hadn't heard much from him yesterday but it was mostly becuase we kept missing each other. Turns out he has a stomach virus or flu or something. Either way he is pretty sick, and has to go to the doctor today. Hope he gets to feeling better though.

I spent much of the weekend working on our yard. Well as for me, I didn't work on the yard so much as a whole, but mostly the damn Palm. The landlady calls it a daypalm, but I can't find anything by that name...and we have many types of palm trees in our yard. but this one stands about 8ft at its tallest but its trunk ends at about 5 ft. The thing was a bitch. My hands are all sliced, so are my arms. Even w/ gloves it poked through them at times. But the dang thing hadn't been groomed for years. Poor tree.

I love to work on plants, but to be honest w/ you, I don't know the first thing about them. I know how to use them for medicinal purposes and whatnot, but not the care of the actual plant. So it may seem unconventional, but don't laugh....I just ask the plant what to do. Yeah, I sound like some tree huggin hippie. But heck, I'm pagan, and it works for me. I started by going to the plant and just trimming up a few dead parts till we got comfortable w/ each others energies. Now I know that plants don't speak. I'm not an idiot. THey don't have mouths, they don't talk. However all living things have an energy. with enough work and training you can work with the energy of any living thing. By the time I was done, you would guess that a pro had worked on it, despite the fact that I don't know the first thing about palms. It still needs more work, but it isn't choking anymore. I think I removed about 50% of the frans. There was a lot of dead stuff in there. It took 2 and a half days! The stems are really thick, about 1.5 inches wide and about 1/2 an inch thick. And so my whole body is sore from chopping.

But me and the palm sat happily together and it worked out very well. The dirt was just teeming w/ life! There were little bugs everywhere! And a chameleon too! A big one, about 6 inches long! He was beautiful! Came up right to me. And there were a few others that had to be relocated...Like the black wooley worm...he went to the rose bush becuase humans and those guys shouldn't be together. THat and the black spider. I moved her too. But I didn't get any bites or anything at all, despite the hours I spent sitting on the ground huddled under the palm frans. It's like I have a deal worked out w/ nature. I never have been stung by a bee or anything of that sort. I have had a few mosquito bites before, but I don't get them that often, and I don't really ever use spray. However, I do remember laying on an ant bed and getting fire ant bites all over my back. But hell...I was in the wrong...should have watched where I put my rump!

Anyhow, the palm is pretty happy, now I have to get to her twin on the other side of the walk. *whew* But that will have to wait till next weekend. It is SUCH hard work. I also want to tend to the grape vines before spring comes. I don't want them going wild this year. It brings all the birds over, which brings the cats, which drives the neighbor dogs crazy, and we get them barking all the darn time. All from some silly grapes (the figs cause the same problem!) who would have guessed!!!??

Oh another wonderful thing happend...I got a new MP3 player! Yay! at last! To replace my Nike 64mb one that died. It just failed. it never did work quite right though. Sometimes it wouldn't format properly adn bits of songs would be left on there. but the new one is a Rio Cali 256mb and unlike the nike, it has a display on it. I got a 2 year warantee on it too. I don't want to buy another one...heck this one was $180 as it was! B tried to talk me into a $350 one. sure it held like 8gigs or something like that but it was larger and did not have a body strap. My 1 requirement is that I be able to strap my music to my body!

My world is 100% transportable again. I can take it w/ me to the grocery store, shopping, house work, and even sitting there next to b. I never have to be bothered w/ assholes again. Besides...if you get funny looking earbuds, and people can't see your mp3 player, they figure you must have some sort of hearing dissability and forgo talking to you. :-)

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design