<< On ugly ducklings >>
2004-01-27, 3:48 p.m.

3rd entry today

Here is a thought...have you heard of Ugly Duckling Syndrome? No?? Well we have all heard the story of the ugly duckling, that grew up to be a beautiful swan. This syndrome is much like that....someone that may have been ugly, homely, odd, or whatnot, back in school, may grow up and become better looking in their adult life. I, for example...am an ugly duckling. Granted I started out UGLY early. It got better as the years went by braces came off, I learned to deal w/ my mass of curls, ditched the glasses, oh and I put down the doughnuts too. But due to such an early case of the uglies..I didn't become consumed with vanity and instead I had to develope my personality. Personality and niceness were my only possible means to find friendship. Now that I am older....I still feel ugly (though I am not) but my personality and niceness are still well intact.

For the opposit, look at brian. He was attractive in school. Everyone loved him, he had women wanting to be near him all of the time. Even screwed a teacher or two in highschool. He never had to develope certain skills to make and keep friends. Now he is older, adds about 10lbs a year these days, has plenty of vanity, but really his basic making and keeping friends skill...well they suck.

He never had to learn to value people.

Here is another ugly duckling: Claire. Claire still feels ugly, depsite the fact that she has grown adorable in her 20s. When she was younger, she had bottle cap glasses, braces, she was too tall and too skinny, and worse yet...she wore a backbrace. Due to scoliosis, she was forced to wear a brace under her clothing that forced her to be perfectly upright at all times. She coped by spending a lot of time on her studies, writing, oh, and wearing big baggy clothes. Today claire is the most loyal friend and wife you could ever hope for. She still sees herself as funny looking, Despite contacts, a much more rounded figure, perfect teeth, and no need for a back brace, she will still be found often wearing baggy boys clothes.

Yes...get yourself an ugly duckling...they have great practice at keeping friends, they tend to be well read, honest, and wonderful. You will be glad you did!

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design