<< Meds, and how they are all going.... >>
2004-03-31, 2:39 p.m.

I figured I would update you all on the med front. I know that meds are always an issue for people...I mean...a lot of us crazy folk take some pretty serious drugs! So I it is always nice to see how others are doing on the stuff.

Currently I'm still on the 225mg of Effexor. Honestly, It may as well be a placebo w/ claws. I take it becuase I HAVE to. If I don't, it causes intense physical and emotional pain. All my senses go insane. However, I know I can live without it.

I'll be bipolar with or without it.

Ladies, the ever popular Ortho-Tricyclen went generic in January. The new drug, Tri-Nessa is a pretty yellow pack is now given leu of the pink dial pack. Downsides-no more really cute designer dial packs (they make some cool ones!), and I am starting to get pimply! Ortho was approved for acne, and most pill will help with acne anyhow. However, since I have started the Tri-Nessa I have consistently had at least 4-6 pimples at all times. Grr. I'm 24, not 14! Other than that, it's the same old pill. (Oh and the sticker for the center of the pack, that's a piece of crap. Use a sharpie)

I'm still taking 1mg of synthroid. It's a way of life. I think I do like it better than Armour. Of course it is nice not to have to take pig thyroid anymore...and synthroid doesn't smell bad either. But the most important thing is T3 & T4. I was nervous about taking a T4 only product. Your body then has to turn T4 into T3. At this time it is working out quite well. They say that people with fibromyalgia really need to try thyroid medication. I think they might be onto something with that. Once my thyroid get's thrown off, my whole life goes to crap. I get depressed, I get fat, I hurt, I am sick.

So I damn well take that one.

I still keep Ambien on hand for occasional use. My friend claire has become immune to hers becuase she uses it every day. I, on the other hand, still get full effect from 10mg. You feel dreamy then fall asleep. end of story. Insomniacs...get some. it's good stuff.

Also the doc has me on 36mg of Concerta for my inattentive add. It's working out ok I guess. I hope he will continue to give me the normal ritalin too. Concerta works for 12 hours. Or in my case about 8-10. Strangely....I can even sleep mid day with concerta. 0_0 But also if I get up late, or if I forget to take my concerta, I need to have the regular ritalin on hand. Ritalin only lasts about 4 hours. If I don't take my meds till 3pm on a saturday, why on earth would I want a 12 hour dose of concerta?

Side note on the concerta....It really blunts the appetite. So i have been working on retraining myself to STOP eating when I am not hungry. Now that's a beeeeeatch. But no point in eating when we are not hungry right?

So yeah...I'm still here. :-) Still bipolar. You know what....bipolar people are special. ;-) I have noticed that some of the coolest people I have ever met are bipolar. Granted we have these funny moodswings, & we are prone to be all kinds of spastic and stuff...but hey, we are just really INTENSE.

pb

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design