<< my weekend...and what I thought of the passion >>
2004-03-01, 8:40 a.m.

Good Morning boys and girls!

The weekend went by terribly fast it seems. Friday had me walking with claire...which was a lot of fun. But brandon was being a bitchy ass, so I am glad I didn't have to talk to him much. He is normaly so kind and sweet to me...but I know we are all doomed to a bad day every now and then. I should be more understanding. He hasn't felt good about himself since he got fired. Well really before then too. Now he is working on and off at Jarmans, and often for Claires father. I don't know how they made it for 2 months on her pay. She only works about 24 hours a week becuase of her classes.

Saturday came along, and so did the usual round of house cleaning. Eh...it wasn't too bad. The bathroom needed a really damn good scrubbing, and the dirty baseboards were irritating me so I made it all spic and span. I even cleaned up my work area in the art studio and my computer desk. I put up a kitten calendar and some art my sis made for me. I also turned my computer screen so that B can't see what I write unless he leans over or comes up behind me :) This way I can have just a tiny bit more privacy when I talk to Jeff.

I had to go see The Passion yesterday. *sigh* I would like to pre-empt every thing I am about to say with a short statement. I like Christians. I have many in my family, I have many christian friends, and christianity itself is a good religion for many. That being said I hated the movie.

First Mark and his daughter Bree came to meet us to drive us to the movie. How I wish we had driven apart. DAMN. So we had to talk religion the whole way there. DAMN. Then we get there and it was rather uncomfortable waiting for the movie to start...trying to talk about anything, anything at all but religion. Depspite the fact that I was raised around christianity till I was 16, I still had the freedom of choice. I went to church for a long time by default becuase they wanted me to have something till I figured things out for myself. But you know what? I don't know the bible for shit! But that's ok. I don't know the Koran either. I'm pagan...I know my own religion. So for me the movie was DULL. As a movie I couldn't follow the plot, It didn't make any sense to me. It starts out with jesus being tracked down and brought in. They say he has been talking smack, and being disrespectful. however, they don't give jack for background on this. I felt absolutly no bond with any of characters like peter...who spent the whole movie looking worried and not saying anything. Had they done a bit more in the begining I could have felt the bond that jesus had w/ his deciples...however, I felt nothing.

Of course I felt the human suffering, How can I ignore that? They beat the hell out of him. I would have given in a long time before he did. A LONG time. The costumes were great though. WONDERFUL.

Now get this...this is a friggin riot. After the movie is done, people start speaking in tounges and rolling around the theater. Some preacher in the front row stood on a chair and put his hands up to address everyone. "if anyone would like to recieve jesus christ into your heart, feel free to come forward." THere were people bowing down to the movie screen and putting their hands up to it. I got out of there as quickly as possible....even though I had to cut in front of an old man to do it.

*shiver*

-PB

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design