<< Walking, running, toning >>
2004-02-27, 3:43 p.m.

4th entry today

I haven't exactly been a bump on a log lately. Been trying to get this gut to dissapear, since it's obviously not going to happen magicaly.

I've been trying to go walking as much as possible. I have gone out walking a couple of times this week. Which is a good start, but no where near where I was before my accident. I miss that...I miss running. I miss the thrill, the high of it. I miss that "I wish I could do that." Look as I run past people in their cars, or watering their lawns. I wonder if there is a track anywhere around my place? There are several schools around. I figure that would be safer at night than my neighborhood.

About my neighborhood. Compared to my last place...it's not as great. Austin was MADE for pedestrians and cyclists. They have LANES on the roads for bikes. THere are sidewalks everywhere. My last neighborhood had great sidewalks and was very well lit. There was a lamp post about every 4-5 houses. So I could see all around me. And although it wasn't an affluent neighborhood, it certainly was quite safe. (I did face harrasment a few times. I had a Diet soda can thrown at me and someone yelled "go on a diet you pig!" and oinked at me. Also someone threw a beer bottle that shattered right by me)

My current neighborhood is different. San Antonio is one of America's fattest cities. If you walk it means you are too poor to have a car. The sidewalks often end without warning, for no apparent reason. The streets often have only one light per block. I often end up in the street. I rarely ever go alone..and I certainy cannot wear my MP3 player. I have to hear all that goes on around me.

But other than that I have been working on toning at home. Lot's of stretching. I intend to remain flexable well into my old age, if at all possible. W/ lots of luck I can accomplish most of the Kama Sutra even after 50! ;-) hehehe.

I think I'll do some walking tonight too.

oh btw...I didn't binge yesterday. Go me. That's a big deal. but today...I'm hungry as can be! I've eaten everything in my lunch box too. 1 grapefruit, a little baggie of prezeles, 2 rice cakes, 2 carrots, and a kiwi. Oh. Wow. It just occoured to me that in "normal People land," that's not all that much. Hm. INteresting.

-pb

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design