<< taking on the world >>
2004-06-25, 10:47 a.m.

2nd today

Jen commented on my last entry, and she is right, we should fix things here first. It did occour to me as I was writing the last entry. In fact, I'm a huge advocate of that.

Commercials on TV asking us to send money to other countries make me sick! Especialy when I know that there are children in this country that go to bed hungry as well. My job is working to protect elderly and disabled people. So many are forgotten about every day. It's a class of people that don't really exist.

Oh and get this...missing white children make national news, but missing hispanic or black children rarely ever do. For example, elizabeth smart...blond hair...white as can be...we all heard about her on national news. It was wonderful that she was found alive though.

But have you ever heard of Pablo Casillas? Me neither. He's 9 and considered an Endangerd Missing child. He's hispanic and missing from San Antonio. But did you hear about him on national news? Nope.

Our land is in crummy condition, contaminated and littered. My brother went to the Apalachan area to teach people the skills they need to get their GED.

There are 12 year olds pushing baby carriages to the bus stop in my own city.

yeah....our own area needs to be fixed...sometimes we want to forget our own countries problems and minimize them in comparison to another place.

We have a lot going for us in this country, but it's not like the wealth is everywhere...

<< welcome >>


current | archives | profile | links | rings
email | Something to Say?
| notes | host | image | design